Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Thoughtworks (3.8/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.7/5) overall. Thoughtworks is the better choice for CTOs judging build-or-buy on AI tooling. RTS Labs is the stronger option for small US firms testing one idea cheaply. The right choice depends on how independent you need the advice to be, your regulatory exposure, and your budget.
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1993 | 2010 |
| HQ | Chicago, USA | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | ~10,000 | 100+ |
| Rating | 3.8 / 5 | 3.7 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Public Technology Radar and engineering-led build-or-buy advice | The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks |
| Pricing model | Time & materials; rates not published | Fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | AWS, Azure, Google Cloud | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Financial services, Retail, Healthcare, Public sector | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing |
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: overview
Thoughtworks
Thoughtworks has around 10,000 people and has been based in Chicago since 1993. Apax took it private in a deal announced in August 2024, and a 2026 joint venture with New York advisory firm Teneo aims to strengthen its business advice. Its own advice is strongest on software and data foundations, and its public Technology Radar shows how it judges tools before you hire it.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs, near Richmond, Virginia, says it has 100+ US-based staff (per company website; independently unverifiable); it gives 2010 as its founding year while Clutch lists 2012. Its advice comes as feasibility studies and proofs of concept with a return-on-investment check, instead of roadmaps. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the cheapest way on this page to test whether one idea works.
Services and capabilities: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Capability | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Readiness assessment | ✗ | ✓ |
| Use-case prioritization | ✗ | ✗ |
| TCO / ROI modeling | ✗ | ✓ |
| AI governance & EU AI Act | ✗ | ✗ |
| Build vs. buy advice | ✓ | ✗ |
| Independent audit or assurance | ✗ | ✗ |
| Roadmap any vendor can implement | ✗ | ✗ |
| Delivery capability after advice | ✓ | ✓ |
Frameworks and platforms: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| EU AI Act | N/A | N/A |
| GDPR | N/A | N/A |
| DORA | N/A | N/A |
| NIST AI RMF | N/A | N/A |
| ISO/IEC 42001 | N/A | N/A |
| Azure | ✓ | ✓ |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | ✓ | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Multi-use-case advisory, Delivery team | Fixed-scope assessment, Delivery team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Enterprise | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Financial services, Retail, Healthcare | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Build-or-buy decisions on AI developer tools., Data foundations before AI. | Testing one AI idea cheaply., Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. |
| Typical project type | Multi-use-case advisory | Fixed-scope assessment |
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| Thoughtworks | |
|---|---|
| + | Tool opinions are public in its Technology Radar |
| + | Strong engineering judgment on build-or-buy |
| + | Data foundations expertise |
| - | Taken private by Apax in 2024 |
| - | Thin on regulation and governance |
| - | Advice leads naturally into delivery |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here |
| + | Tests ideas on real data |
| + | Return-on-investment check included |
| - | No portfolio-level planning |
| - | No EU regulatory work |
| - | Founding year and headcount vary between sources |
Who should choose Thoughtworks?
A typical fit: build-or-buy decisions on AI developer tools.
Public Technology Radar and engineering-led build-or-buy advice. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Retail, Healthcare, Public sector.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: testing one AI idea cheaply.
The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing.
Decision matrix: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want advice with no build contract attached | Neither; write the build as a separate decision |
| Finance needs run costs before approving anything | RTS Labs |
| Some of your use cases may be high-risk under the EU AI Act | Neither; add a governance specialist |
| You need an outside check on a system already built | Neither; use a dedicated auditor |
| You want the same firm to build what it recommends | Both can deliver |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Thoughtworks (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need advisers in many countries at once | Thoughtworks |
Use case fit: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Use case | Thoughtworks fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Build-or-buy decisions on AI developer tools. | Strong | Limited | Thoughtworks |
| Data foundations before AI. | Strong | Limited | Thoughtworks |
| Testing one AI idea cheaply. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
Thoughtworks (3.8/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Advisory projects. Public Technology Radar and engineering-led build-or-buy advice.
RTS Labs (3.7/5) is worth a look if you need return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is Thoughtworks better than RTS Labs?
Thoughtworks (3.8/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Thoughtworks's strongest advantage: tool opinions are public in its Technology Radar. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here.
How do Thoughtworks and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
Thoughtworks's pricing: time & materials; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: Thoughtworks or RTS Labs?
Thoughtworks is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each firm before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Thoughtworks and RTS Labs?
Thoughtworks's primary differentiator is: public Technology Radar and engineering-led build-or-buy advice. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (~10,000 vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Financial services, Retail vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each firm before making a decision.